My Skill Set as an Upcoming Journalist

September 14, 2010 Jessica Hanevik

I believe that I am very strong-skilled in the traditional world of journalism. I pay close attention to detail and make sure my work is as perfect as possible in the time allowed before the deadline. Since I was a little kid, I created fake newspapers and wrote my own news using simply a pen and paper and no other forms of technology. It may be difficult for me to adapt my way of writing to a more technological aspect. That said, growing up in the world of technology, I am a very quick learner when it comes to new software and programs. I have been a part of social networking sites for years now, so I know exactly how those work. I have been required to post blogs in the past for different classes so I have slight knowledge when it comes to that. As for the different types of media posting, such as video and audio, I have had quite a bit of experience creating and editing. A media outlet I do not have experience using is microblogs like Twitter. Although I haven’t yet taken an interest in it, I can see how it could be helpful to use and don’t think it would be too difficult for me to adapt. I also have not had experience in SEO or RSS feeds. But, once again, I think I can pick up on it fairly quickly.

The skill set I believe will be the most important is the traditional writing skills. Even if I were to master all of the technological media outlets, it means nothing unless I know how to write a good story or sentence to compliment the other features. Because of that, I am very comfortable I knowing that is my strongest skill set.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Twitter Updates

September 2010
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
 
