Language of the Image

October 18, 2010 Jessica Hanevik

I recently completed the Language of the Image course on the Poynter website. I learned that it’s very important to convey messages through your photographs. There are some subtle (and some not so subtle) factors that makes a picture truly speak to the audience. I also learned ways to make my pictures convey the story I want to tell. I think I would need more training on this though, as some of the elements of a picture were lost on me. I feel like the strongest is emotion. You can’t mistake emotion in a picture, so I feel that is the easiest way to tell a story. I tried to find some examples of what I learned, mostly seeking emotional pictures. The Star Tribune has page set aside for photo galleries. The most recent album I found that was powerful at story telling was portraying the Lakeland deaths. When I think of powerful storytelling photographs, I often think of the 9/11 tragedy. One in particular I found was of a plane with the World Trade Center right after it was struck. A plane next to the World Trade Center after it was struck
Most people already know what happened that day, but if they didn’t, it would be pretty easy to figure out from this photo. In the next photograph, it’s pretty clear what is happening. It was taken when the Baltimore Ravens won the Superbowl and the team is overjoyed. The Ravens victory in the 2001 Super Bowl
It’s difficult to learn how to shoot good photographs, especially because it is usually an “in the moment, get it while you can” type of photo. Hopefully, the Poynter courses have helped with my understanding of taking a good photograph.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Twitter Updates

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
 
